The Politicus

Create | Share | Influence

NC-Sen: Emerson Poll Has Cal Cunningham (D) Beating Thom Tillis (R) 49-43, Biden Beating Trump 51-49

2 min read

Some very good new today out of North Carolina:


A new WNCT/Emerson College poll shows Democratic challenger Cal Cunningham with a lead over incumbent Sen. Thom Tillis (R) in the North Carolina Senate race.

Monday’s poll asked voters for whom they would case their vote in the North Carolina Senate race if the election were held today.

Cunningham received 48.9 percent while Tillis had 43 percent.

A total of 8.1 percent of those polled said they were undecided.




Sen. Thom Tillis (R-N.C.) on Saturday signaled support for President Trump and Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) to fill the Supreme Court vacancy opened by the death of Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg.

The North Carolina lawmaker, who is embroiled in a tight reelection battle, argued the situation following Ginsburg’s death is different from 2016, when the Senate GOP blocked President Obama from filling a vacancy on the court in an election year, because the government then was divided.

“Four years ago, a Supreme Court vacancy arose under divided government and a lame-duck president as Americans were choosing his successor. Today, however, President Trump is again facing voters at the ballot box and North Carolinians will ultimately render their judgment on his presidency and how he chooses to fill the vacancy,” he said in a statement.

By the way:


— Cal Cunningham (@CalforNC) September 19, 2020


p class=”is-empty-p”>

Let’s keep up the momentum and flip North Carolina Blue. Click below to donate and get involved with Cunningham, Cooper, Biden and their fellow North Carolina Democrats campaigns:

Joe Biden

North Carolina:

Cal Cunningham

Roy Cooper For Governor

Yvonne Lewis Holley for Lt. Governor

Josh Stein for Attorney General

Elaine Marshall for Secretary of State

Cheri Beasley for Supreme Court

Lucy Inman for Supreme Court

Mark Davis for Supreme Court

Deborah Ross for Congress

Kathy Manning for Congress

Moe Davis for Congress

North Carolina Democratic Party

Ronnie Chatterji

Jessica Holmes

Pat Timmons-Goodson

Brian Farkas

Adam Ericson

Terence Everitt

Sydney Batch

Kimberly Hardy

Frances Jackson

Ricky Hurtado

Dan Beese

Christy Clark

Brandon Lofton

Donna Lake

Harper Peterson

Allen Wellons

Kirk DeViere

Terri LeGrand

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

The Politicus is a collaborative political community that facilitates content creation directly on the site. Our goal is to make the political conversation accessible to everyone.

Any donations we receive will go into writer outreach. That could be advertising on Facebook, Twitter, and Reddit or person-to-person outreach on College campuses. Please help if you can:

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x